Money, Money, Money

b72ed36656ca5578fbb48850286da2e8

The other day I decided to browse the wedding section of Barnes and Noble. I saw titles saying “DIY Weddings,” “Weddings Under $10,000,” “Weddings on Budget.”

I’ve heard weddings are expensive. Oddly, I’ve never gone to a wedding and thought “wow, this must have cost a pretty penny.” I’ve been to weddings in Washington, D.C., performing arts centers, country clubs, bed and breakfasts. But as a bride-to-be, I’ve come to realize weddings are just a euphemism for “debt.”

Sorry, is this a debbie downer? Is it really possible to have the wedding of your dreams and maintain a budget? I’m in that overwhelming what-am-I-going-to-do phase where I feel like no matter what, I’m going to be so broke after this wedding.

I know people say “it’s not about the money.” I agree, it isn’t. But that doesn’t mean it needs to be ignored. I want to be smart about this, save as much as I can, budget like crazy. Cue in woman with a fanny pack full of group-ons.

Norfolk is blessed with some beautiful venues-Chrysler Museum, Hermitage, waterfront, Work I Release. But all I see is money. And because of that, I don’t want those places. I want a venue that I can see Will and I truly happy, hanging out with family and friends. A place where we aren’t squirming because we know once we walk out we owe so. much.money. Basically, a venue where the paycheck isn’t even on our minds.

And I think that’s important as Will and I go venue shopping. I have faith that God will lead us to where we are going to celebrate the sacrament of marriage. I know he’ll take care of us. That has served as such a comfort, because He won’t throw you something you can’t handle. I know money will play a part in this planning, but DO NOT MAKE IT EVERYTHING.

Whoever loves money never has enough; whoever loves wealth is never satisfied with their income. THIS TOO IS MEANINGLESS.

Ecclesiastes 5:10

Leave a Reply

